Can a G1 transaction be anonymous?

another question from the FAQ of the new english website build.

i hear that @tuxmain, is quite an expert in this field, and may be interested in answering this question in english, for us to utilise for the english g1 website.

we find the description from the french website to be lacking.
thanks

1 Like

Here is the link of the FAQ item spooncarver is talking about : Une transaction peut-elle ĂŞtre anonyme ?

I feel that we should add more references about how on-chain anonymity can be achieved and what is planned for v2 since it’s a thing we would like to make easier.

1 Like

I’m not an expert at all, just worked on it a bit! :innocent:

Both currently with Duniter V1 and soon with Duniter V2 (as well as in Bitcoin and most of the cryptocurrencies), transactions are all public: everyone knows which account sent which amount to which account. It makes it easy for the network to verify that the monetary protocol is respected, that is we can check whether the transaction’s funds are legitimately owned by the transaction’s issuer.

One can still use a few techniques to improve their anonymity:

• Use single-use accounts, that are not publicly related to your identity. You can create as many non-member accounts as you want, and tell people to send transactions to these accounts. It may not be perfect and be impractical, but it makes it harder for an attacker to link these transactions to your identity.
  • Use paper “banknotes” or other material tokens, backed by an organization (that exchanges Äž1 and tokens). Like with state-currency banknotes, the transactions are untraceable, except when exchanging it with real money. However you have to trust a third-party organization or your trade partners. (this technique is mainly used for markets or during short IRL events, mostly because it’s simpler and faster than using a smartphone for each transaction, rather than for the anonymity)